Dominos Launch Gluten Free in USA – But Not Suitable For Coeliacs!

Two days ago, I received an email from The Gluten Free Guerrillas about Domino’s pizza USA launching  their first gluten free pizza base!

You see, I usually wake up from my well needed beauty sleep, and with one eye open, check my emails on my phone. Now as you can imagine when I read that email I did sit up fast  in bed with excitement! Finally they were going elsewhere with their gluten free bases and it was only a matter of time till they started to do so in the UK…

…. except, their bases aren’t suitable for people with Ceoliac Disease! Confused? So am I!

 

According to Dominos their pizza bases are certified gluten free. They contain the following ingredients:  Water, Rice Flour, Rice Starch, Potato Starch, Olive Oil, Evaporated Cane Juice, Tapioca Flour, Potato Flour, Fresh Yeast, Avicel, Salt, Calcium Propionate.

Except the utensils they use to cook the gluten free bases are also the same utensils they use for their ‘normal’ wheat filled pizza bases.

Now The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness [The US equivalent of Coeliac UK – who I had the pleasure to write for] worked closely with Dominos to educate them and help them distinguish between Coeliac Disease and Gluten Sensitivity. Although the NFCA support Dominos efforts with providing a gluten free base and the risk for gluten exposure is low, the NFCA believe this product may be an option for those with mild gluten sensitivities but not those with Coeliac Disease.

So how do you feel about the new gluten free Dominos pizza base in the US? 

Personally, I feel a mixture of feelings. Firstly, I’m grateful that Dominos have been so honest about their pizza bases so our American coeliacs won’t order a gluten free pizza under false pretences. Secondly, I’m glad that they’ve started making gluten free pizza bases elsewhere instead of just Australia and New Zealand, and maybe they’ll start to do so in the UK.

 But sadly I can’t help but feel a little frustrated that not more effort is put into the making of their gluten free bases to ensure that there is no cross contamination. Why can’t they use different untensils to make their gluten free bases? Is their any need to use the same? Maybe use colour coded utensils, for example, a red colour tab on the utensils used for gluten free pizza making and a blue colour tab for the other utensils used to make ‘normal’ pizza [plus it’ll stick with the Dominos colour scheme!]. I always feel more care is given to ensure utensils used to chop and prepare meat’s aren’t used to chop and prepare vegetables. For example, a chef wouldn’t use the same knife and chopping board to cut chicken and also to cut his vegetables!

 

 

One comment

  1. Hi , I agree it’s very frustrating , how a product is gluten free but not for coeliac’s is ridiculous , I know cross contamination etc but it’s still ridiculous . It’s annoying it’s aimed at non coeliac’s who can already eat normal pizza .

    I dislike thd gluten free fad .

    Btw nice blog I will have to try some recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *